My Fave Reads of 2018!

It’s that time of year again when I get out my virtual bullhorn and sandwich board to tell you what were my favorite books of the past year. I challenged myself to read 50 books and nailed that handedly (sitting pretty at 66) with a mixture of novels, short fiction for the Hugos, manga, and non-fiction. I’m not going to provide links to the books in this list — Google is your friend, and so is your local bookseller.

Without further ado, these are the books I think you shouldn’t have missed!

The Beautiful Ones

Written by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, The Beautiful Ones came out in the fall of 2017 and was a terrific way to start 2018. What I love about Moreno-Garcia’s fiction is her absolute skill with voice, and how different each book is from the next. Every book she puts out is an absolute diamond. This secondary world historical romance with magical elements is perfect and not to be missed. There was so much squeeing.

Amatka

Karin Tidbeck is a writer whose voice I fell in love with the moment I sat down and started reading her short fiction collection, Jagannath, given to be me by my writing friend Andy Taylor who was sure I would love it. He was right. Amatka takes all that weird, that allegory, and her haunting, deeply natural rhythm and turns it into a fine book. The kind that crawls into your brain. Had I read it the year before when it was released, I would have banged on my two kitchen pots for months to get it on awards nomination lists.

The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter

The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter by Theodora Goss is an absolute, glorious romp. The Athena Club is one of those rare series I start where I just want the whole thing, all of it, right now, because these characters are fabulous. Watching them argue and support each other is a blast. The only reason I haven’t read the sequel was that I had purchased the trade paperback and want the sequel to match. (It comes to my grabby hands in April!)

Spinning Silver

I loved Naomi Novak’s first entry into her standalone fairytale reimagining series, and I loved Spinner Silver no less. Novak takes the story of Rumpelstiltskin and completely transforms and deepens it, giving us a compelling trio of heroines in the process, including a Fem!Rumplestiltskin. Bending or inverting tropes? I am here for that. I don’t as a rule buy hardcovers — long live the ebook or trade paperback! — but these books are exceptions.

The Power

Holy hell. This was my first introduction to Naomi Alderman’s work. After more than a year of hearing everyone talk about The Power, I grabbed a copy from the library to see what the fuss was about. A deft hand with voices, Alderman gives you several narrators that are too compelling to put down and a world setting itself on fire. A gripping, thought-provoking read, and my own copy (in trade paperback!) will be arriving next week.

Trail of Lightning

Another book who’s sequel I have preordered. What is happening to me? I don’t like series! But Rebecca Roanhorse’s first book in her Sixth World series is an absolute stunner. Trail of Lightning is a post-apocalyptic fantasy that does everything right, and that last scene left me in big, gulping tears. Maggie is my favorite kind of heroine. Fresh, vivid, and snarky. *chef’s kiss* Don’t miss this one.

The Poppy War

This book by R. F. Kuang is one you can’t put down. You might, every so often, have to, because any fantasy novel that’s based on the Nanjing Massacre will be a hard thing to read. But keep reading The Poppy War. There is some incredible worldbuilding here, and a cast of characters you rant at, pray for, and champion. Rin is a stellar heroine and I cannot wait for the sequel, due out in 2019, even though the story is only going to get harder from here on out.

Moon of the Crusted Snow

Have I mentioned how much I like post-apocalyptic fiction? I do, and this is a stunning, stark entry into the field. Moon of the Crusted Snow by Waubgeshig Rice was a title I randomly came across on Twitter. The book tells the story of an isolated Anishinaabe community who must survive in the aftermath of a (province-wide? nation-wide? world-wide?) infrastructure collapse during a harsh winter, as well as fending off southern invaders. Pick this one up, and CBC, if you are listening, this is exactly the kind of Canadian content you should be bringing to the screen.

How Long ’til Black Future Month

I’m nearly halfway through this collection, having saved N. K. Jemisin’s 2018 release for my holiday break. Jemisin’s books have become auto-buys for me and have never disappointed. How Long ’til Black Future Month collects twenty-two of her short stories and shows off her undisputed skill. I’m not likely to finish the collection before 2019, but I will be damned if I don’t tell you to go out and buy it now! Jemisin’s books are hug-to-your-chest reads, and this collection is no exception.


And that’s it from me! Nine books for 2018 … well, dang it all if that doesn’t bork a perfectly fine bit of symmetry. Let’s throw in one more to make it an even ten: find Ways of Seeing, a non-fiction book by John Beger. A short, but paradigm-kicking read.

Hope to see you reading in 2019! What was your favorite book this year?

Leave a comment