To Be Reads For Realz

giphy-2

I have a book problem.

There are worse problems to have, but at least this is a problem that, in theory, I can painlessly do something about.

I participate in the yearly GoodReads challenge to read X number of books in a year. I generally hit my quota, normally somewhere in the range of 50 books, and while I no longer rate books (usually) I do use the site as a running tally of the stuff I’ve read and the stuff I want to read.

Yet despite hitting the 50-books-read benchmark for another for the year already, I’m not exactly putting a dent in the To Be Read pile. The other day I glanced over at my shelf, did a rough count, and realized there were 50 books sitting there, never mind the currently uncounted number of e-books I have picked up for both Kindle and Kobo. And hello local library, the best library of my life, your aren’t helping by helping either.

So: I’m declaring 2017 is the year I crush my To Be Read pile. At least the physical one, hopefully part of the e-pile, too.

Why do this challenge?

Because I am not a Dragon sitting on a treasure horde. I mean, I am, sure, but I want to be able to pick up a book that just came out or one I’ve just heard about and read it immediately without guilt. No more surveying my Shelf of Wonders wondering when I might actually get to crack that spine. For some of these books, it’s been years since I bought them, some I moved cross country and a few of ’em I am not even excited about anymore. Despite paring down before the move, I’m more or less back where I started – at the bottom of Book Mountain right before the inevitable avalanche.

It ain’t pretty. I need a steel shelf to hold them all.

Now, the rules:

  • I’m not sticking with books I’m not enjoying. Forget sunk costs. If I don’t like it by page 50 or so, boom, done. It will go in a box and I will pass it on to someone else.
  • I cannot borrow a book from the library (our beautiful, six-story library with all the things) unless I’ve read 10 books. But will try not to.
  • I cannot buy a book (except for pre-orders I have already made) unless I’ve read 15. But will try not to.
  • If I need a book for research, I will borrow, study and return it. Pinky swear.

That’s it. Keep reading, keep updating GoodReads, and keep my nose out of a book store unless I’m in there not buying books.

Which is okay, as I have a lot of great books ahead of me. ♥

giphy-3

2 thoughts on “To Be Reads For Realz

  1. ATaylor

    I know this feeling all too well. I was just looking at my TBR pile the other day wondering how best to tackle this. My annual goal is closer to 24 books. 90% of which I “read” this year were audiobooks, so my physical TBR pile keeps growing.

    One of the things I want to do in 2017 is track any of the NEW books I bring into my house, but also to limit them and get rid of more. Sigh. Happy Reading!

    1. Steph

      I’m going to make a list of all the books and start keeping tally. And I will use the #ToBeReadsForRealz hashtag to update it my count on Twitter. 😃

      And HEY, audiobooks count! I’m glad to hear you’ve found a way to get back to some kind of reading schedule. Maybe you can look at getting audiobooks for the paper ones you have, for those that have ’em? Don’t think about Sunk Costs! Think about how you can make the process easier for you going forward! Sunk costs are how we get into this mess. 😜

Leave a Reply

