A Wild Post Appears!

You know it’s been a while since you posted a blog when the interface on WordPress has changed enough for you to do a double take. But, onward!

(Peaks to see when last entry was…)  Yikes! Well, let’s get caught up.

letsdothisLook, November was a blur! I threw all my spoons into NaNoWriMo and while I didn’t walk away a winner I did walk off with 30,000 words on the novel I had absconded off with to the Rainforest Writer’s Retreat this past February. I’m closing in on a completed draft, hopefully by the end of December.

IMG_3437There was also the mid-December launch of Pulp Literature #9 and within its pages, my short story Hothouse Flower! Look at how pretty it is! With my name on the cover and everything! Want a copy? Head over to the magazine website here and get yours (print or digital). All earlier issues are also available in both formats for purchase. As well they have a Patreon and yearly subscriptions.

Stephanie paws and cradles the magazine affectionately like a totally normal person, and is certainly not muttering, “PRECIOUS,” over and over again.

Now, where was I?

To be honest, once the heady rush of NaNoWriMo had passed, my brain shut off for a couple of weeks. I spent the time catching up on a few books and re-outlining what I had so I could go into the last quarter of the draft guns blazing and ghosts screaming. December hasn’t been all that quiet, so I’m looking forward to my holiday break with a not insignificant amount of anticipation.

In fact, I’ve decided to take five of those days and make myself my own little writing retreat. Put some serious words – maybe even finish! (Hey, it’s only got 25,000 words to go.) I loved Rainforest, but going back this February is not in the cards. That said, I should be able to recreate most of it — the structure, for example, the single focus, the utter immersion — in my own apartment. It’s a matter of will and planning and this year I have both. I’m super excited, and trying not to feel guilty about basically noping out of the world for five days.

2016 is stirring on the horizon and I will, before the year turns, get up my favorite reads from 2015. I haven’t been online with as much regularity as usual (for me); even Twitter’s taken a hit in tweet-frequency though it’s still your best bet to find me. But hey, my lack of online blather is because I’ve been writing. On track for 100,000 words this year, which feels good to type, and I’m looking ahead and making plans for 2016 to be a productive and creatively satisfying year. So Allons-y!

doctorsmirk

 

 

Leave a Reply

