The NaNoWriMo Spirit

Okay, big fibber, me. I’ve changed the layout again. Which is also about as much time as I’ve had for the place. Christmas shopping, and all the running around that entails, has kept me away from all finer pursuits. Or, in case of the blog, not so fine. *wink*

It’s also meant very little progress on BLOOD, unfortunately. Only about 3,000 words since the end of Novemeber.

But the shopping is done, gifts just needing to be wrapped. I’ll have no time off during the holidays but my days off, being shifted from the regular work week as I am, means I do have an uninterrupted weekend right before Christmas hits, and I plan to make use of it.

It is going to be my MINI-NANOWRIMO WEEKEND!

And I couldn’t be more excited!

In preparation, I’ve been making the master scene list of what’s to be written, even budgeting words for each section. After I wrote down all the stuff that I can see happening and putting a rough estimate of wordage for each, I quickly topped 10,000 words. That hit me hard, made me wonder if I am setting myself up for failure. But frankly I’ve been dancing around this ending for three weeks now and I’ve decided no more! This draft will be completed by the end of December 23rd. I’m drawing up the battle plans, I’m making the list of possible distractions and working to eliminate them, and I’ve drafted the white board into the job. I’m going to list all the things I have planned and as soon as a section gets written it will be dashed off the list with great flourish. There will be no house keeping, no chores, no cooking, no Internet. There will only be writing and at the end of it a mighty huzzah of triumph that will deafen my Twitter followers.

That’s the plan, anyways. So, while not productive in a words-written sense, I’m gearing up (madly, passionately, enthusiastically) for my MINI-NANO. Woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

