Post-NaNo Update

(Annoyed, as I’ve had to re-write this entry. My little WordPress app was hungry, I suppose, as it ate the entry before I’d chance to save it … grr. So this will be the Coles Notes version, as I’m not so inclined to write it a second time.)

(I know. Wah. Wah. Wah.)

I have been slacking, but with permission. I took two days off after NaNoWriMo, got back to it on the third day. In the week since NaNoWriMo finished, I’ve managed 2,200 words over the three days I wrote (including a 1,000 words today). The goal is to write a minimum of 500 words a day and slowly build up my output. Not sure if I could manage a NaNo pace day after day while working full-time (though if I ever hope to make it, I’ll need to), but I want to get back up to 1,000 words per day. But I’m going to work my way up.

Priority one is still finishing BLOOD, and before the end of the year. If I’m not finished before the 22nd, I’m planning to have a mini-NaNo. It will be a shut myself in, lock the doors, live off of peanut butter sandwiches and coffee and finish it. I will let myself be inspired by Julia, one of my local writer buds and one of the co-MLs for Sudbury’s NaNoWriMo, who wrote 15K on the last day of the month! And I know I don’t have that much to write — at least, I don’t think so.

And then I can just relax the last week or so. I’ll give the manuscript 6 weeks and spend the remainder of December and the whole of January working on my mini-projects, reading, the text book exercises, and play with a short story or two.

Then, in the bitter clutch of February, the edits on BLOOD begin!

Leave a Reply

