Plug In, Please

Oh god. It’s Monday, isn’t it?

Well, really, that’s Friday for me (yay, shift work!) . However, it comes on the heels of my return from SFContario — which means I’m tired, the cats are clingy, and work is the last thing I want to be doing. (I also seem to have lost the ability to type on a proper keyboard and Command + C and Command + V. Ooh, where IS that tea?)

There will be a Con Report to follow shortly, when coherence starts running through my veins like caffeine, but for now a brief update on other stuff. Namely, NaNoWriMo.

When I left off, my word count was 30,226. Since then I have written some bits on the iPad and long hand. (I even managed a batch on the bus ride down, so, yay me!) My goal this morning is to get those words into Scrivener, check my tally, then figure out how I am going to get this thing put to bed by the 30th.

Truth be told, I was starting to waver in my commitment. I’m looking at 20,000 words in the next eight days (depending on how my word count susses out this morning). That’s a lot. The whole Apple TV this isn’t much of a carrot anymore, as finances post-Con make make that largely irrelevant. (I mean, I still want it, but it will likely be shifted into the new year, win or lose.)

But I still want to win. I don’t want to fail again. It’s personal this time in a way I can’t rightly explain. I have to do it, see it through to the end. And I will.

So, that’s it for now. In the meantime, enjoy this picture in place of my sleep-deprived lack of wit:

Leave a Reply

