NaNoWriMo Day 1

Apparently I have to have my “Woe is me!” moment of crisis before I break through whatever block I’m up against. Once I get it out of me, then I can look up, look forward. And I have.

I purposely didn’t write on Sunday night. I figured, save it for Monday, save it for the start of NaNo. I joined the Halloween Kick-Off Party with my fellow Nano’ers, a little late, but warming to the spririt. I came home and got all my documents ready to start on Monday. This involved setting up both SimpleNote and Index Card (both for the iPad) and the new Scrivener and then going over the new outline mode in Scrivener with the WIP. Made some notes (totally in love with the new customizable meta-data) and then put it to bed hopeful.

I woke with the determination that I was going to get through NaNoWriMo. It might be a dogged, never-let-go, wrestle each word at a time, but I was going to do it. I wasn’t going to give up before I’d even started. And at work, I wrote a pep-talk list to myself, a series of “You will…” statements that not only reassured me but empowered me.

And then I brought out the big guns, a massive, personal bribe: if I succeed at NaNoWriMo, if I cross the finish line with 50,000 words, I give myself permission to buy the Apple TV.

Somewhat extravagant, true, but I’ve been pondering it a while. It will make a great reward, one that will absolutely push me to win! (Yeah, so sometimes I need external motivation. Whatever works, right?)

Part of the trick of NaNoWriMo for me is that I don’t just write a great deluge of whatever comes to mind. I can’t write that way; I don’t have the time to waste. I needs to make sense, it needs to be something I can edit when it’s all over. I’m not writing a page of someone doing the laundry or having a dream sequence that has nothing to do with the story. But I have the major plot points of the WIP mapped out, so I’m not going in blind.

Just gotta go in there, show up, and write. I managed 2,200 words tonight, which is all kinds if awesome. That was in about an hour and a half at the first write-in. The goal is to push for 2,000 words a day, work out the story arcs on the whiteboard, and mind-map whenever I get stuck, and keep moving!

I especially need to get ahead … ’cause I’m heading to Toronto for SFContario after all! Got the clearance today, buying my tickets tomorrow, and dreaming of then big city.

So, I’m feeling good. Real good. And I’m going to try to post every night to recap my NaNoWriMo efforts.

It’s not just 50,000 words or the Apple TV. I started last years NaNoWriMo with this same project. I had wanted to have this finished before NaNo — hell, I wanted this finished months ago. But I want to finish it now. I want to be able to walk away on Novemeber 30th having written THE END on this draft and ready for the next step.

I’ll let ya know how it goes, but so far so good!

Leave a Reply

