Bookish Blasphemy

In what will probably be a heresy of biblical proportion for book-lovers, I’m coming to the conclusion that I will end up packing up all of my used books and bringing them back to the used bookstore. The only ones I will keep are books that I bought new, mostly compilations and a few others. Sure, the other books I have I do want to read, but the likelihood of me reading a paperback book again are few and far between and I don’t want a shelf of glum paper books looking at me accusingly every night. If I clear out the used books, I’d free up a bit of shelf space that could go towards still unboxed RPG books I’ve kept for inspiration. Not only that, it means that if I buy digital copies of these books when I am ready to read them, money will actually go to the writer.

(See how I rationalized my technological snobbery there? Not bad, eh?)

Have begun Palimpsest by Cat Valente on the Kindle app for the iPad. Wow. Luxuriant prose. Some fucking beautiful stuff so far. Also loving that I can highlight passages and make notes. If I’m not careful I’m going to end up having a whole conversation with this book before it’s done. But the Kindle app is just not as pretty as the Kobo app. In fact, if I had my way I would hack up and sew together the best parts of iBooks, Kindle and Kobo into an uber e-reading application, one with the ability to landscape like the iBook, the notation features of the Kindle and the sexy stylin’ of the Kobo interface. It would reign as the mightiest of e-readers.

Yes, I am getting quite silly now. G’night!

Leave a Reply

