Actualy, Real, #AmWriting

When I say #amwriting, I’m referring to the Twitter meme where writers get together and tweet updates on their morning progress. It’s technically an all-day thing now, though it started as literally a.m. writing. It’s now more a declarative statement, an “I AM WRITING” sort of thing. No matter. I rarely participate, mostly ‘cause it’s the rare morning that I am writing. Usually those are my days off, and usually I don’t start until 10:00 am or so.

The hard core peeps start EARLY, like, we’re talking an insane 5:00 am or 6:00 am their time. I see their posts and pine a little to participate.

I’ve tried setting my alarm for 6:00 am, but have consistently slept through it until the 7:00 am alarm. Been doing that for a couple of weeks now.

But not today. Got up, dragged my ass out of bed, fed the cat, brewed a pot of tea, and hammered on my ScriptFrenzy treatment. Only reason I didn’t work on draft words for Blood of Wolves was because I’m not sure where the next scene is going and I didn’t want to spend the 45-odd minutes trying to think of where to go. I’ll do some preparatory scene work today so that I’m ready for the next day. Instead, I got a couple of scenes down. Productive.

… And I think my upstairs neighbor is showering. This early? Fuuuck. Hope there’s water for me! …

Anywho, I have to get going. Hopefully this will steamroll, and I’ll be more likey to keep tinkering, keep writing, instead of letting the day be filled with distractions and time sinks.

Leave a Reply

