Playing with Numbers

Things are about to get interesting.

At least, for me personally. (I don’t doubt it will be as boring as cleaning out your tea-maker to read, but hey!)

I am a day short of doing a nine-day stretch on the phones and a shift change. After several of us affected pointed out that nine days straight of talking to customers might be a stress situation we could do without, most of us (I’m assuming) got a day off in there. The Sunday, no less, of the Canadian Thanksgiving holiday. So I have three days of my old schedule, a day off that will be mostly taken up with pie-making, paint-ball, and turkey, in that order, and then five days at my shiny new 11:30 am to 8:00 pm shift with weekends off. (!!!)

Now, the down-side is that I won’t be cooking for the majority of the week. And I can’t live off of cold sandwiches for dinner. It’s going to be … complicated … trying to manage what I eat and when. The upside is weekends off, meaning that we can properly clean the house together and even go on the odd road-trip. Luxury!

But the real upside, the one I’m actually excited about?

I have weekday mornings to write, uninterrupted, for the next month and a half. If I can get myself organized and ready by 8:30 am, I can write from then to 11:00 am and then be out the door and at work for 11:30 am. And with NaNoWriMo right around the corner, this is perfect.

I have three weeks on this schedule before November 1st rolls around. I’ve also had allowances made for my weekly writing group meeting every Thursday. While I won’t make it out to most of the weekday NaNo events, I can make the weekend ones. So that’s three weeks of, let’s say, 2 hours a day, five days a week to get Spirit Cat/Last Witch finished — that’s 30 hours of writing, not including any time I write on weekends or at the weekly meetings. I’m going to play with the math, today, plan out what I think the last bits of the book will take, and then figure out my schedule.

And as for NaNoWriMo, that would be 40 hours, not including weekends. That will be trickier, but I can squeeze more time for it; it’s NaNoWriMo after all, and Todd won’t begrudge me that.

As for me, time to scoot! I do have to work today, but tonight, writing and cheese and tea and good talk.

Leave a Reply

