Pants or Pants-less?

It’s that time of year again, when writers across the globe get itchy-fingered because the start of National Novel Writing Month is just a few weeks away.

Have you signed up?

I’m pretty excited this year. After winning NaNoWriMo the first year (though by “winning” it only means you managed 50,000 words), I wasn’t so successful the second two. A pre-planned (and un-re-schedulable) trip kiboshed the second year and the third year I used it to continue work on my novel-in-progress and only managed 15,000 words.

This year, though, it will be different.

My work schedule is changing. (Again.) I’ll be shifting to an afternoon schedule, where I work from 11:30 am to 8:00 pm, which will be life crippling but offers weekends off. That said, what it will grant is uninterrupted writing time every weekday morning. At least two hours where I can write without feeling like I’m neglecting something and at the beginning of the day when I’m freshest.

This could be very, very good.

It will only last until the beginning of December, when the training class starts at a freakishly early in comparison, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. After that, well we’ll see what times I’ll have for writing. (After training, in January, I likely will have lots of time in the mornings.) So, until then, mornings under the new schedule, starting October 12th, will be writing mornings and it will dovetail perfectly with NaNoWriMo.

Those 50,000 words are mine.

But before I can start NaNoWriMo, I need, nay, will, have the draft of Spirit Cat done by the end of the month. With two weeks of mornings available plus my remaining days off before the switch, this is very doable. The only question is, what do I want to do for NaNoWriMo? Right now, I have two impulses: pull out that old werewolf story I’ve been trying to write forever (and have a workable plot sketch for) or do something totally seat-of-the-pants. The idea really took root when I was toying with the idea of writing something brand new and looking over at once of my visual prompt book. I thought, what if I just used it, day after day, and worked the new image into the story as I went along? Wouldn’t that be fun? Hell ya. Almost just as quickly I was trying to talk myself out of it. Do I want to waste a month of time on 50,000 words that I’m no going to do something with? But then I thought, just as quickly, that it might be fun anyways, and a nice break after I finish off the novel and before I end up editing. So, who knows?

Meanwhile, I have four weeks to finish my novel. Hell. High Water. And all that.

Leave a Reply

