More Books, More Worries

The last couple of weeks have been eaten up with work and worry over a job I was applying for. The dust seems to have settled on that matter, so it’s back to regular life-stuff.

Which mostly hasn’t been about writing.

I finally got my hands on a copy of The Idiot’s Guide to Publishing Science Fiction by Cory Doctorow and Karl Schroeder (tho’, rather shittily, Schroeder is not credited on either Indigo or Amazon’s book page and I put the blame squarely on the stores). I picked it up after seeing them both at the Cecil Street Irregulars panel at World Con in order to bolster my notes. I thought I was going to mainly skim it save for that section, but I’m enjoying it quite a bit. Zippy and fun, and clarifying some terminology that I’d heard of but never had explained, like “over the transom.” Both websites show a more recent publication date, 2003 verses the 2000 copy that I have, and I wonder if any updates were made for that second printing. I know at least half of the web-links are dead or changed and this book pre-dates the podcasting trends that are so prevalent now. I was thinking, “Wouldn’t it be nice to have an updated version with Doctorow’s thoughts?” But then I realize that I have read them, scattered across the web. Unfortunately it’s totally out of print, so no getting my own copy. More note-taking. The most useful thing about the Idiot’s Guide book is a section about how you think about writing, that writing isn’t a single activity, but multiple activities that you have to make room for every day. Got me pondering.

Meanwhile, the Underground Writers group is … progressing. We are meeting mostly weekly, we’ve sent our first group submissions for critique (all but 1 of us, anyways), and we’re posting on the group blog.

But.

We went from the three of us, to four, and we were posting fairly frequently on the group blog, until we added the last three. One of the newcomers does post, but the others have yet to do so. Part of that is connectivity issues that the pair has (which would drive me insane … I need my Internet!) but it’s disappointing to see the site usage decline with the addition of new members. I am partly to blame. With the last two weeks my own productivity and posting has tapered off. That’s changing, starting today.

Still, we feel, to me at least, fractured. That we have yet to find our groove. It’s early days yet, of course, and I know that. I just hunger for a tight-knit group, all the same page, plugging away at it night and day. And, again, I pine for the bustle of a place like Toronto, where it would be easier to find like-minded fellows.

I’m going to be re-subscribing to the OWW, and this time I’ll post, I’ll critique, and, gods-willing, take part in the email list that I’ve been lurking on for over a year.

Leave a Reply

