Bleary-Eyed, Nauseous, and Geeky

Why do I always have to be nervous?

I’m here in the hotel room on the last day of Ad Astra, charging my phone and enjoying the solitude. My two roomies never came back last night, which you would think would make for sound sleeping but in truth I just spent half the night waiting for one or both of them to return, light left on for their convenience. In about an hour and a half I will be joining the handful of others who decided to sign up for the workshop.

And I’m sick with worry. I really hope I’m not the only one feeling just this side of miserable, with a knotted stomach and a dry mouth and panicky, flighty thoughts.

Besides my insecurities, it’s been a great Con. Much, much better than the one I came to two years ago. More people, more … joy? Everyone has a smile on. The hallways are full of people. It was gloriously summerish yesterday, light streaming in, windows open to catch the breeze. Today is more spring-like, with rain pouring down since the early hours.

On tap for this morning, breakfast, workshop (two hours, eek!) and then a few more panels, maybe. The ETA to get gone is around 2-ish. Later than perhaps I’d like, but that’s okay. The only thing I am looking forward to is the animal rescue. After that, it’s catching up on sleep and just work tomorrow, which will be long and depressing and filled with awkward conversations. We’re on the way down the other side of the curve, where the best will shortly be behind us and the Con blues take root. I don’t have much in the way of things to look forward to for the month of April, with the medical tests and what-have-you.

Well, on to foodstuffs.

Leave a Reply

