Prepping for Ad Astra

This is my last ‘free’ day to get ready for my three-day vacation to Toronto for Ad Astra. We’ve gotten most of the large details taken care of, like where the cat and dog are staying, but it’s the little details that are still elusive, things like exactly when we are leaving, what nights Todd will or will not be at the hotel. A further complication is that we may be driving his parents down to Toronto with us. Not was I was hoping for. They are wonderful people, don’t get me wrong, but there is always a level of self-sensoring around the in-laws.

And considering that I am going to Toronto for, essentially, a literary conference because I’m writing … well, it makes me uncomfortable.

I still don’t really talk about my writing to people I know. There are a few exceptions, of course, but at work I mostly just talk it down, chalk it up to being nerdy and to never mind me, and I don’t tell my family at all. I just can’t. Yet I’ll happily expose myself to strangers, eagerly yap about what I’m trying to do. Well, that’s not entirely true – I tend to clam up about my specific projects, thought that may be changing soon.

So far it’s been a slow start to the morning. I need to get going, get a pot of tea on and type in the words I’ve written at work. The good news is that I finished the third short story (first draft form only) and I think I’m ready to go back to the novel. There was a great post here at Storytellers Unplugged that talks just about the phase I’ve been going through – getting stuck because I’m getting hung up on my novel’s sucktitude instead of just getting on with it. I posted it over at the Sudbury Hypergraphics board, too, as there are several of us, I think, that need to read it right now.

And then after that, scribbling a massive to-do, to-pack, to-ready lists to make sure I don’t forget anything for the weekend. @whee!

One thought on “Prepping for Ad Astra

Leave a Reply

