E-Hermitage

Is it so much to want to have one week-end where I am a complete social hermit?

Every time I think I have two days to myself, suddenly this, that and the other crashes in. And I appreciate the irony that this was exactly what I was complaining about before – that I never got to go out to do things or see people. But I’m not getting anything done anymore and every day is another one slipped away.

Today, at least, I’ve been a bit better. I’ve read some of my current book, Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder. Except for a few writerly quirks that amuse more than annoy, I’m really enjoying it, having been sucked in pretty much on the first page. So much so, in fact, that I went back on my personal promise to buy no more books and picked up it’s sequel and the second book in the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris. I’ve bragged/complained about this before – I easily have three years worth of reading material to get through, not even counting the non-fiction.

I’ve also managed to get the words written at work typed in today and I need to get some more down. Editing was also supposed to be on the to-do list, but I’ll be lucky if I get to it. As for the date with my novel . . . *sigh* . . . that hasn’t happened yet. It feels like I need to be just writing, just producing words. Editing seems like some sort of foreign custom glimpsed at briefly while on holiday, strange and exotic and utterly alien in a language I don’t understand. But it’s one I have to learn.

So I’m mulling over an e-hermitage. No email, no SMS, no web-surfing, no phone, no leaving the house for anything.

And wow … sitting in my papasan chair with the window behind me illuminates just how many greasy fingerprints I have on my MacBook.

*squeegee*

Ah, much better.

Leave a Reply

