And The Upload Is Complete

Once again, I learn the lesson (one I seem determined to forget) that if I push myself too hard, that if I continue to beat my head against a wall, all fuzzy-brained and tired, I miss the simple answer to the problem.

I decided to get to it this morning, try to finish off the manual import of five months of entries. Last night I’d manually entered all the ones from December 2006 and knew I had a task ahead of me this morning. For some reason, WordPress would not recognize the entries from December 2006-May 2007. I thought it was because they were friends-only entries, so I, one-by-one, changed the status, but that didn’t work.

And then, this morning, I realized that not only was I able to pull in the entries that WordPress did pull in with MacJournal, I could pull in entries from LiveJournal itself. Click, boom, there they were, all save half of January’s entries. But those are imported now, and I have all my journal entries going back to 2002. Now, those early years? Yeah, they weren’t writing-related. They chronicle my days in cooking school and then working my first kitchen jobs. Which, interesting, but not the focus of this blog. Still, having all the work in one place was the goal and that’s done.

Going over the entries, a couple of things pop out at me.

How much I’ve forgotten. Reading through the cooking school days, I’m discovering passages detailing events I no longer remember. I don’t know if it’s a result of starting to journal, or that journaling became imperative because of it, but my memory is terrible. If I don’t write something down, it’s like it almost didn’t happen. It’s why I’ve worried about losing these entries. For someone terrified of journaling as a kid, I’m a profuse journal writer now in whatever medium I can get my hands on.

How upset I was. The entries after cooking school, when I was at the Idylwylde, when I was really stressed out, supremely unhappy. Wow. I may have moments at work now where I am frustrated, freaked out, but looking back at some of those tense times makes me happy still that I did not go back into cooking.

How much I missed. Long stretches with no entries at all. Some of this occurs naturally when I was out of town and either had restricted Internet access or none altogether. Twice this occurs during NaNoWriMo, which surprised me. Must have spent too much time on the NaNo Boards, or, as I suspect, I wrote more longhand in the paper journals.

What real word counts look like. My first NaNoWriMo, SparrowKing, got me to 50,000 words. After that, I still had half a book more to write. Those missing entries show me struggling to hit 2,000 words a day at the computer. And often, I did. I wasn’t working at the time, so I had all day while Todd was at work. I’m jealous, frankly, though I can see the stress I was under. Still, looking at those numbers and then at my piddly little 250 minimum words per day, wow.

Anyway, that’s all for today. I have a small errand to run, chili to make for dinner, and some new words to write after I get the others typed in.

Leave a Reply

