Lest Ye Think I’ve Missed A Day

I haven’t.

Yesterday I got all my words in while at work, taking the somewhat sleepy first hour on the phones to get the bulk of my words done and then rounding it out here and there before the end of the day.  It was the first time I finished my words before I got home that night.  321 all told, all long hand.

Today I started again long hand but we were too busy.  I only wrote down about three small paragraphs, mostly dialogue, and knew I would have to make up for it tonight.  And even then I put it off, cooking a really nice dinner and  watching the recorded program of Battlestar Galactica (yay!) before coming upstairs.

I began typing in yesterday’s words, and ended up adding about 73.  Then I typed in what I’d started today and just kept going until I reached the end of the scene and the chapter.  By the time I was done, today’s efforts, not counting yesterday’s, was 603 words.

I’ve written eight days straight, pleasurably, without having a big chunk of time set aside to write. I’m building the daily habit without the pressure of NaNoWriMo’s huge word count goals looming over me, threatening to burn me out.  So far, I like this, and today’s output pleases me the most so far.

Meanwhile, in writing-related news, I’ve picked up a larger binder for my Spirit Cat notes, which I plan to transfer over tonight or tomorrow, and I have started reading All The Windwracked Stars by Elizabeth Bear.  Lovin’ it!

Leave a Reply

