In Between Worries

I’ve had one of those days.

An appointment with the doctor was the highlight, one of my yearly followups, of a jerky, annoying day.  Remember that treatment, he tells me, we were going to have you take right after the surgery, but we decided since your so low risk we weren’t going to bother?  Yeah, we’re going to have you do it now, six years later.  Hopefully we didn’t miss anything.

Um, thanks?

Those few of you who know who I am face to face know what I’m referring to, but it’s not something I want to get into great details here.   What it means is that I’m in one of those weird in between states, not sure if I should be happy that I’m finally getting the painless procedure I’d worried about not having, or if by having it now I should be worried anew.

See?  A worrier.  Card-carrying member.

Best to head-in-sand the whole thing until they call me up for the preparation for it all – trying to pull on the ostrich costume as I type.

I indulged a little afterward by picking up two British magazines, one for Mac users and Imagine FX, a fantasy and sf artists magazine.  I used to draw, ages and ages ago, but I still love art and think very visually.  I comb the internet for images that spark stories for me, places like Epilogue and DeviantArt are two of my favorites.  What I’ll do is look for genre works that strike me as intriguing, as layered enough to be more than just beautiful, and then I mash them together with a writing prompt to see what I come up with.  I rarely find a piece that represents something or someone in a story I’m already telling – they always open up new windows to new stories, and you can never have too many of them.  Put them in a screen saver, press random and, whammo, you have a rotating story-sparking art gallery on your monitor.   Love it.

Writing today has been sidelined, though I know exactly where I am starting next.  I’m off to refill my gun powder tea and drown out some worry with some light reading.

Leave a Reply

