Word Count Hat Trick (NaNoWriMo Day 16 & 17 +0 words)

I am very, very far behind.

I’m at around 17,000+ words of NaNo output.  Combined with what I had brings me to 33,000+ words on Spirit Cat altogether.

The last three days I have come to the computer, I have stared at it, and done nothing.

Either I can pull this out on the 19th and 20th, or it’s not happening.  I’ll still write, I’ll still post my word count, but if I can’t make 10,000 words on those two days combined (and be able to follow it up the following week), it’s just not going to happen.

And that’s okay.

I have never followed the rules with NaNoWriMo, not ever.  My first year I was trying to write a “real” novel.  My second year, the intent was to write a “real” novel, but the two weeks of unmoveable vacation time made that impossible.  This year, again, it’s a “real” novel that I’m writing.  And by “real” I mean no things added just to accumulate words.  Am I giving myself permission to write crap?  Absolutely.  It’s a first draft and I fully expect that it will stink to high heaven of poopiness.  But I am not going to add random non sequiturs just to inflate my word count.  It’s counter-productive to what I want to accomplish.

The goal in all of this is to get into a routine – and that is where I am failing.  That is what’s bothering me.  I’m elated that I have successfully written 2,000 words at a sitting time and again, but it’s just that I’m not sitting down every day.  (Is it doable?  Is it desirable, with a full-time job, family and responsibilities?)

Perhaps I’m burning out a little bit on the binge writing.  I don’t know.  Since it’s felt like I’ve been trying to catch up from the get-go, I’ve felt pressured to perform.  And the days at work where I get no pre-writing done?  Death.  I write nothing at night.  Perhaps there was even more to my pre-writing longhand than I realized.  I haven’t tried pre-writing in the house.  I should.

I have been moody, full of funk.  My patience is very tried, and I am tired.   I get these attitude fogs, every so often.  It will pass.  I just have to work my way through it.

4 thoughts on “Word Count Hat Trick (NaNoWriMo Day 16 & 17 +0 words)

  1. Sorry to hear you’re not having better luck, but I fully understand about writing a “real” novel. That has been my goal from day one as well. What can I say, I’m a perfectionist, through and through. If your mission is to write for the sake of story, not for the sake of word count, then try to pay less attention to the latter. Sometimes, it just won’t be forced and the best thing to do is to take a break. Best of luck writing, and relax.

  2. scribofelidae

    Thanks. I hope it doesn’t sound like I’m disparaging other participants who are having a great time with it and just givin’er! That’s cool too. Kind of a little jealous, actually. *grin*

    I’m not editing – which is good. I’d surely be in a word count black whole if I was going back and editing. I think I need to sit down and brainstorm one evening. I’ve reached the point in my story where I’ve played out the first third of the movie in my head, but now the projector’s died on me and all I have is to go on is the ten minute trailer, with all the big scenes and major “WOW!” moments, but not the connections in between.

Leave a Reply

