Physics Lessons

At work it’s been so quiet that I can do my own work – my fiction. I was able to surreptitiously type in my long-hand Spirit Cat notes to my private wiki site with no one the wiser.

If you go back in the entries, you’ll see mention of the wiki. I had created the freebie as a way to write raw material while I was at work, but my desk was always in an exposed area – anyone could have seen me working and should have (if they were paying attention) recognized that I wasn’t on a work website. I’d only have used it during down time, but I was too chicken to try it. Now that I’ve moved to a more secluded cubicle, I decided okay, let’s do it. Of course, I waited until a day where there were no supervisors on the floor.

Not sure how much millage I’ll get out of it, but we’ll see. (Bock Bock!) It worked well, though; I typed up the long-hand and painlessly imported it into Scrivener just now, correcting the formatting easily. So, yay. Only about 550 words, though.

I’ve been a bit obsessed with the American election as of late. Well, not so much as of late. More of a ramping up of my normal obsession with American politics. I slavishly check and re-check Reddit and Crooks and Liars, and all the links that are spawned from those sites. Because of it, very little reading, very little writing, is getting done.

Which leads me to NaNoWriMo.

This will be my third year. First year I succeeded, and the half-born Sparrow King, my bronze-age fantasy, was the result. Last year the plan was to make a head-long rush on my modern werewolf tale, Wolf Killer, but knowing ahead of time that I’d be out of town for two weeks during the month took the bite out of my resolve, so to speak. This year, of course, it’s Spirit Cat all the way, and I feel pretty good. No big plans to suck up free-time. Todd is on board. But I’m quietly worried. I look at my current output and I wonder if I will be able to keep pace.

My secret shame? The first year I did NaNoWriMo I wasn’t working. I had all day, every day, no strings attached. And I had to push. Really push, fight with it to make sure I started. Some days, I had to fight to finish. Other days, it flew easily. Part of it, I think, was pushing through the blocks, pushing through the fear of writing crap, the fear of not writing enough.

This time it’s different. I know I can crank out the words if I just sit down and do it. NaNoWriMo taught me that. They may be ugly words or they may be pretty words, but they are words that I can do something with – more, at least, than with pages that have no words. So now it’s about conquering my inherent laziness, my own bad habits.

inertia |iˈnər sh ə|
noun
1 a tendency to do nothing or to remain unchanged : the bureaucratic inertia of government.

And boy-howdy, have I done nothing. That said, the second part of that definition:

2 Physics a property of matter by which it continues in its existing state of rest or uniform motion in a straight line, unless that state is changed by an external force.

State of rest or uniform motion.

All I have to do is remember that I’m supposed to be the force – me, my brain, the higher functions, not my base nature. I’ve seen it born out before. Once I get started, once I sit down and commit, I go. I’m racing side by side with time.

And sometimes, I need the external force. That’s where NaNoWriMo comes in.

Leave a Reply

