Formatting Fiend

Tonight it’s an early night – after frantic running around after work, having both friends and a headache over, I’ve left Todd to play host and have retreated to the bedroom to play with the blog and watch episodes of the Muppet Show (televisionary stuff).

The cave worked.  I wrote about 250 words today, and that was with all my distractions, puttering and real work.  I may type it in tonight; I may leave it tomorrow.  Todd’s talking about a poker night, which if I tag along I may bring the laptop.  

What is it about my office that sets me into the lull of dull web surfing?  Blogs and message boards and social networks and news sites, clicking page refresh over and over for the minutest of updates?  I get nothing constructive done.  Yet I do it every day.  

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Albert Einstein

Still, writing at work recaptures some of that feeling from school, that boredom that leads the pen to scribbling, almost on its own.   And I’m greedy – I’ll take any word I can get.

In the meantime, I’m off to do some blog formatting.  May switch the categories to tags.  May check out to see what sorts of non-standard widgets I can get going on here.

Edited to add: Holy cats, I’ve been at this for two hours and I’m only half done. The tag cloud should be showing, but it will only link back to around half of my total entries to date. The rest will be tagged soon.

Leave a Reply

