Shift in Schedules

Improbable as I thought it to be, I actually managed to get day shift on this shift-bid. I’m going from a 2:00 pm to 10:15 pm shift to a 8:45 pm to 5:30 pm shift. Being 34th of 39 total full-time agents, I worried I’d have only the latest start times to choose from, even later than the last shift bid, and I had no idea how I was going to get home. They offer an small incentive for people who work 11:00 pm or later, but I wasn’t sure how many folks would take it and they were offering fewer day shifts all around than last time. There was talk a lot of day shift regulars would take anything with Sat/Sun off, which made a lot of people nervous in the afternoon/night shift.

But it worked out – at least for me. Seven night a week with Todd beats two any day. The guy said I was the first person happy about the shift bid so far. I don’t doubt that he’s had nothing but attitude from many of the other agents. All I know is that after I hung up I screamed that high-pitched, roller-coaster ride sudden-drop scream for about a minute, then I texted everyone.

What does this mean for my writing? Well, having squandered all my mornings, I am hoping that not having them will make what time I do get more precious. I won’t likely write at night when I’m home – not with Todd and dinner and the animals. But during the oh-so-quiet work day, I do plan on getting a little done. I’ve written a little over 500 words on Spirit Cat while at work over two days last week, which I need to transcribe. (I’m getting a back log!) So my days off will be my official writing days, and who knows, I might try getting up early to write before going to work. We shall see.

Meanwhile, I’ve finished setting up Firefox as my ‘Writing Browser’, with nothing but writing links, workshops and forums available to me. Took me damn near long enough.

Leave a Reply

