What I have been doing:

Reading. When not sneezing and sleeping, mind.

Finished reading Writing in Flow by Susan Perry. It’s a book I used to own, but donated to the local library during my explosive I’ll Never Write Again! book-purge of 2004. Book still has my nameplate. Anyways, I don’t think I was ready to read it back then, whenever I bought it. At the time, I would buy any new writing book that graced the bookshelves of the local store. Most of them went unread (and I didn’t write, either).

But now, going back to it, I found it of great help. Reading about how other writers write, and how they don’t, helps. Especially helpful is reading about their own doubts, and how they have, or haven’t, conquered them. I’d dog-eared a bunch of passages and wrote them down for future reference.

I’m also reading Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson and The Science of Science Fiction Writing by James Gunn. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

