Self-Inflicted

I was going to say something cheesy and self-absorbed about ‘surviving the holidays’ (and I guess I still have), though in light of world events, it’s not a very nice thing to say.

I did, however, have a pleasent, homey, safe Christmas, and one I am deeply thankful for.

Work was pretty much non-stop until the stoppage – ie, Christmas Eve. I wrapped gifts in the morning, was supposed to start on Christmas dinner but didn’t actually get there. Convinced Todd that we should not open presents on Christmas Eve and that they must be wrapped (especially after I wrapped his gifts). I don’t know if it’s a male thing or just a Todd thing, but he is physically unable to wrap anything. Even something that is both small and square. That night we ate at my parents and opened interfamily gifts, so it wasn’t like he had to go cold Turkey. I received two books from my parents, one a very spiff professional pastry chef’s book and a retrospective of Opus, by Berkely Breathed. Sam got me GURPS, kinda – it was the wrong edition, but now I’ve gotten the campaign book for 4th and I am cruising towards GMing again, at least during the slow season. My folks seemed happy with what I got them, which made me happy. 🙂

Christmas morning was the time to unwrap goodies, and indeed I was spoiled! I had asked for something ‘exercise-y’, pilates or yoga, and got basically a whole starting kit: yoga mat and ball, tenser rope, step system and Yourself Fitness. It’s for the X-box, and it’s a like a game and a fitness DVD all in one. You input your physical stats, do some test exercises, and then it creates a program for you. I’ve been faithful to it for over a week now (I even unlocked a new training area). I’m sore as all hell, mind you, but I’m having fun with it.

After presents, I went into dinner mode, with my parents, his parents, and my brother coming over for dinner. My turkey et al was alright, but no humdinger. C’est la vie.

It was probably because of that dinner, that I wussied out of cooking for copperain, who came to visit. Instead we subjected him to a pedestrian encounter at a Montana’s. But it was great seeing him again – miss ya Mike! (I also made a very dull turkey soup after a promising-smelling carcass stock, and then killed it some more with VERY underdone bread … I am shooting 0 for 2, here.)

Since then, I had popped back to work for our New Year’s Eve event, and then have had three more days off to enjoy with Todd. I return on Tuesday, but only for a spectacularly ridiculous shift of 5:00 pm to 8:00 pm, solo.

In the meantime, exercising, reading, and relaxing! I’ve been sucking back fiction, lately, and I need to spread the love around. I picked up several other cooking books on sale at Chapters after Christmas, including Bourdain’s new book, Les Halles, and the ultimate, Larousse Gastronomique. Sweet!

Hope your holidays were pleasent ones. 🙂

One thought on “Self-Inflicted

  1. Ya!

    Came all the way from British Columbia after following and supporting your cooking career from conception to today, and I still can’t even get a scrap of toast outta you, let alone a dinner!!

    Oh wait…you made popcorn. My bad. 😉

    It was great seeing you guys again!!

    Miss ya both

    *HUGS*

    -M-

Leave a Reply

